Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



MTR CORPORATION LIMITED 香港鐵路有限公司

(the 'Company') (Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (Stock Code: 66)

CHANGE OF EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS, ROLES AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF A MEMBER OF THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTORATE

The Company announces that Dr Lee Kar-yun (also known as Dr Tony Lee Karyun), currently the Operations Director of the Company, will take up an additional role to oversee the Company's Digitalisation and Innovation Department and will be retitled as the Operations and Innovation Director with effect from 1 October 2023. He will continue to be a Member of the Executive Directorate of the Company.

The Company announces that Dr Lee Kar-yun (also known as Dr Tony Lee Kar-yun), currently the Operations Director of the Company, will take up an additional role to oversee the Company's Digitalisation and Innovation Department and will be retitled as the Operations and Innovation Director with effect from 1 October 2023. He will continue to be a Member of the Executive Directorate of the Company.

With effect from 1 October 2023, Dr Lee will retain his responsibility for the Company's railway-related asset performance, asset management, new railway projects operations planning and development, operations safety and quality in Hong Kong as well as innovation and technological development in Hong Kong Transport Services. In this regard, he will continue to report directly to the Hong Kong Transport Services Director of the Company, who remains overall responsible for the Company's railway operations in Hong Kong. In addition, Dr Lee will also oversee the Company's Digitalisation and Innovation Department with a view to establishing an integrated technology and innovation framework across the Company and will report directly to the Chief Executive Officer of the Company on corporate-wide technology and innovation-related matters, with effect from 1 October 2023.

Dr Lee (aged 62) joined the Company in 1991 and has held various management positions related to the design, construction, operations and maintenance of the Company's railway system in Hong Kong. He took up the position of Chief of Operations Engineering in September 2013 and was appointed as Deputy Operations Director in November 2019. Dr Lee has been the Operations Director and a Member of the Executive Directorate since 1 January 2020. He is also the Chairman of MTR Lab Company Limited, a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Company, and a director of some of the members of the Company's group.

Dr Lee is a Chartered Engineer and is a Member of The Hong Kong Institution of Engineers, The Institution of Engineering and Technology and The Hong Kong Institute of Directors. He is also a Member of the Advisory Committee of the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering of The University of Hong Kong, the Engineering Discipline Advisory Board of the Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education and a Member of the Technical Committee of National Rail Transit Electrification and Automation Engineering Technology Research Center (Hong Kong Branch). Dr Lee holds a Doctoral degree in Engineering and a Master degree in Philosophy both from The Hong Kong Polytechnic University and a Master of Business Administration degree from The Open University of Hong Kong (now known as Hong Kong Metropolitan University).

Dr Lee has signed a side letter with the Company to reflect his new position and additional role mentioned above, which will take effect from 1 October 2023, and to extend his term of service for one year until 31 December 2024, with no change to the other existing terms (including remuneration) of his existing service agreement.

Unless otherwise disclosed above, as at the date of this announcement, Dr Lee is not related to any Directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholder of the Company, and has not held any other directorship in the last three years in any public companies the securities of which are listed on any securities market in Hong Kong or overseas and does not hold any other position with the Company or its subsidiaries.

As at the date of this announcement, Dr Lee is interested in 151,611 shares of the Company, and in addition has an interest in 89,918 shares of the Company awarded to him under the Company's Executive Share Incentive Scheme. Apart from these interests, he does not have any interest (within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong)) in the shares of the Company.

In respect of the change mentioned above, there is no other information which is discloseable pursuant to any of the requirements of Rules 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the 'Listing Rules'), and there is no other matter in this respect, other than as stated above, which needs to be brought to the attention of the holders of securities of the Company pursuant to Rule 13.51(2) of the Listing Rules.

By Order of the Board Gillian Elizabeth Meller Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 26 September 2023

As at the date of this announcement:

Members of the Board: Dr Rex Auyeung Pak-kuen (Chairman)**, Dr Jacob Kam Chak-pui (Chief Executive Officer), Andrew Clifford Winawer Brandler*, Dr Bunny Chan Chung-bun*, Walter Chan Kar-lok*, Dr Dorothy Chan Yuen Tak-fai*, Cheng Yan-kee*, Hui Siu-wai*, Sunny Lee Wai-kwong*, Rose Lee Wai-mun*, Jimmy Ng Wing-ka*, Carlson Tong*, Sandy Wong Hang-yee*, Adrian Wong Koon-man*, Professor Anna Wong Wai-kwan*, Christopher Hui Ching-yu (Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury)**, Secretary for Transport and Logistics (Lam Sai-hung)**, Permanent Secretary for Development (Works) (Ricky Lau Chun-kit)** and Commissioner for Transport (Angela Lee Chung-yan)**

Members of the Executive Directorate: Dr Jacob Kam Chak-pui, Margaret Cheng Wai-ching, Linda Choy Siu-min, Carl Michael Devlin, Herbert Hui Leung-wah, Dr Tony Lee Kar-yun, Gillian Elizabeth Meller, David Tang Chi-fai, Sammy Wong Kwan-wai and Jeny Yeung Mei-chun

* independent non-executive Director

** non-executive Director

This announcement is made in English and Chinese. In case of any inconsistency, the English version shall prevail.