Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



MTR CORPORATION LIMITED

香港鐵路有限公司

(the 'Company')
(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 66)

APPOINTMENT OF ALTERNATE DIRECTOR

The Company announces that Mr Maurice Loo Kam-wah (Deputy Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Treasury) 2) ('DS(Tsy)2')) has been appointed by Mr Christopher Hui Ching-yu (Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury ('S for FS&T')), a Non-executive Director ('NED') of the Company, as his Alternate Director with effect from 10 August 2020.

The Company announces that Mr Maurice Loo Kam-wah (DS(Tsy)2) has been appointed by Mr Christopher Hui Ching-yu (S for FS&T), a NED of the Company, as his Alternate Director with effect from 10 August 2020.

Mr Loo (aged 46) joined the Administrative Service of the Hong Kong Government in 1996 and has taken up the post of DS(Tsy)2 since 10 August 2020.

Mr Loo is currently a director of the West Rail Property Development Limited and Hong Kong IEC Limited. He is an alternate director and alternate member to S for FS&T on the respective Boards of the Hongkong International Theme Parks Limited and the Airport Authority Hong Kong.

Mr Loo holds a Bachelor of Engineering degree in Electronic Engineering from The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, a Bachelor of Science degree in Politics and International Relations from University of London, United Kingdom, and a Master of Public Administration degree from Harvard University, United States of America.

As at the date of this announcement, Mr Loo is interested in 588 shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

Mr Loo has not entered into any contract of service with the Company as an Alternate Director to Mr Christopher Hui Ching-yu (S for FS&T) nor is he appointed for a specific term. He does not receive any emoluments from the Company as an Alternate Director to Mr Christopher Hui Ching-yu (S for FS&T).

Unless otherwise disclosed above, as at the date of this announcement, Mr Loo:

- (a) has not held any other directorship in the last three years in any public companies the securities of which are listed on any securities market in Hong Kong or overseas, and does not hold any other position with the Company or its subsidiaries; and
- (b) is not related to any other directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholder of the Company, except that he is an official of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region ('HKSAR Government'). The Financial Secretary Incorporated, a controlling shareholder of the Company, holds shares in the Company in trust for the HKSAR Government.

In respect of the appointment of Mr Loo, there is no other information which is discloseable pursuant to any of the requirements of Rules 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the 'Listing Rules'), and there is no other matter relating to his appointment, other than as stated above, which needs to be brought to the attention of the holders of securities of the Company pursuant to Rule 13.51(2) of the Listing Rules.

By Order of the Board Gillian Elizabeth Meller Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 10 August 2020

As at the date of this announcement:

Members of the Board: Rex Auyeung Pak-kuen (Chairman)**, Dr Jacob Kam Chak-pui (Chief Executive Officer), Andrew Clifford Winawer Brandler*, Dr Bunny Chan Chung-bun*, Walter Chan Kar-lok*, Dr Pamela Chan Wong Shui*, Dr Dorothy Chan Yuen Tak-fai*, Cheng Yan-kee*, Dr Anthony Chow Wing-kin*, Dr Eddy Fong Ching*, James Kwan Yuk-choi*, Rose Lee Wai-mun*, Lucia Li Li Ka-lai*, Jimmy Ng Wing-ka*, Benjamin Tang Kwok-bun*, Johannes Zhou Yuan*, Christopher Hui Ching-yu (Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury)**, Secretary for Transport and Housing (Frank Chan Fan)**, Permanent Secretary for Development (Works) (Lam Sai-hung)** and Commissioner for Transport**

Members of the Executive Directorate: Dr Jacob Kam Chak-pui, Adi Lau Tin-shing, Roger Francis Bayliss, Margaret Cheng Wai-ching, Linda Choy Siu-min, Dr Peter Ronald Ewen, Herbert Hui Leung-wah, Dr Tony Lee Kar-yun, Gillian Elizabeth Meller, David Tang Chi-fai and Jeny Yeung Mei-chun

- * independent non-executive Director
- ** non-executive Director

This announcement is made in English and Chinese. In case of any inconsistency, the English version shall prevail.