Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



# MTR CORPORATION LIMITED

# 香港鐵路有限公司

(the 'Company')
(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 66)

#### CHANGE OF DIRECTOR

The Company announces the following changes:

- (1) Miss Rosanna Law Shuk-pui has ceased to be a Non-executive Director ('NED') of the Company at the same time as she ceased to hold the post of the Commissioner for Transport ('C for T') with effect from 15 August 2023. Miss Law has also ceased to be a member of each of the Audit and Risk Committee and the Technology Advisory Panel of the Company, both with effect from the same date; and
- (2) Ms Angela Lee Chung-yan will become a NED of the Company with effect from 28 August 2023 at the same time as she takes up the post of the C for T. Ms Lee will also become a member of each of the Audit and Risk Committee and the Technology Advisory Panel of the Company, both with effect from the same date.

The Company announces the following changes:

## (1) Cessation of Director

Miss Rosanna Law Shuk-pui has ceased to be a NED of the Company at the same time as she ceased to hold the post of the C for T with effect from 15 August 2023. Miss Law has also ceased to be a member of each of the Audit and Risk Committee and the Technology Advisory Panel of the Company, both with effect from the same date. Miss Law has confirmed that she has no disagreement with the Board of Directors of the Company (the 'Board') and that there is no other matter relating to her cessation as the Company's Director as abovementioned that needs to be brought to the attention of the holders of securities of the Company.

## (2) Appointment of Director

Ms Angela Lee Chung-yan will become a NED of the Company with effect from 28 August 2023 at the same time as she takes up the post of the C for T. Ms Lee will also become a member of each of the Audit and Risk Committee and the Technology Advisory Panel of the Company, both with effect from the same date.

The C for T is a NED of the Company appointed by the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (the '**HKSAR**') pursuant to the Mass Transit Railway Ordinance (Chapter 556 of the Laws of Hong Kong) (the '**MTR Ordinance**').

Ms Lee (aged 51) joined the Administrative Service in July 1994 and rose to the rank of Administrative Officer Staff Grade B1 in April 2022. She has served in various bureaux and departments, including the former Home Affairs Branch, the former Constitutional Affairs Branch, the Home Affairs Department, the Security Bureau, the former Environment, Transport and Works Bureau, the Trade and Industry Department and the former Food and Health Bureau. Ms Lee was Deputy Secretary for Home Affairs from April 2015 to October 2017, Deputy Secretary for Transport and Housing (Transport) from October 2017 to December 2020 and has been serving as Deputy Secretary for Development (Works) since December 2020.

Ms Lee, in her official capacity as the C for T, will serve as a director of several transport-related companies including The Kowloon Motor Bus Company (1933) Limited, Long Win Bus Company Limited, New World First Bus Services Limited, New Lantao Bus Company (1973) Limited, Citybus Limited, The "Star" Ferry Company Limited, Western Harbour Tunnel Company Limited and Route 3 (CPS) Company Limited.

Ms Lee holds a Bachelor of Business Administration degree from The Chinese University of Hong Kong.

Ms Lee has not entered into any contract of service with the Company as a NED of the Company nor is she appointed for a specific term. Pursuant to the Articles of Association of the Company, Directors appointed by the Chief Executive of the HKSAR pursuant to the MTR Ordinance are not required to retire by rotation at the annual general meetings of the Company. As a NED and a member of each of the Audit and Risk Committee and the Technology Advisory Panel of the Company, Ms Lee is entitled to an emolument of HK\$520,000 gross per annum as determined by the Board. The emolument will be received by the Government of the HKSAR rather than by Ms Lee personally.

Unless otherwise disclosed above, as at the date of this announcement, Ms Lee:

- (a) has not held any other directorship in the last three years in any public companies the securities of which are listed on any securities market in Hong Kong or overseas, and does not hold any other position with the Company or its subsidiaries:
- (b) is not related to any directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholder of the Company, except that she is an official of the Government of the HKSAR. The Financial Secretary Incorporated, a controlling shareholder of the Company, holds shares in the Company in trust for the Government of the HKSAR; and
- (c) does not have any interest in and does not hold any short positions in any shares or underlying shares in or any debentures of the Company or any of its associated corporations within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

In respect of the appointment of Ms Lee, there is no other information which is discloseable pursuant to any of the requirements of Rules 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the 'Listing Rules'), and there is no other matter relating to her appointment, other than as stated above, which needs to be brought to the attention of the holders of securities of the Company pursuant to Rule 13.51(2) of the Listing Rules.

By Order of the Board Gillian Elizabeth Meller Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 15 August 2023

As at the date of this announcement:

Members of the Board: Dr Rex Auyeung Pak-kuen (Chairman)\*\*, Dr Jacob Kam Chak-pui (Chief Executive Officer), Andrew Clifford Winawer Brandler\*, Dr Bunny Chan Chung-bun\*, Walter Chan Kar-lok\*, Dr Dorothy Chan Yuen Tak-fai\*, Cheng Yan-kee\*, Hui Siu-wai\*, Sunny Lee Wai-kwong\*, Dr Rose Lee Wai-mun\*, Jimmy Ng Wing-ka\*, Carlson Tong\*, Sandy Wong Hang-yee\*, Adrian Wong Koon-man\*, Professor Anna Wong Wai-kwan\*, Christopher Hui Ching-yu (Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury)\*\*, Secretary for Transport and Logistics (Lam Sai-hung)\*\*, Permanent Secretary for Development (Works) (Ricky Lau Chun-kit)\*\* and Commissioner for Transport\*\*

Members of the Executive Directorate: Dr Jacob Kam Chak-pui, Margaret Cheng Wai-ching, Linda Choy Siu-min, Carl Michael Devlin, Herbert Hui Leung-wah, Dr Tony Lee Kar-yun, Gillian Elizabeth Meller, David Tang Chi-fai, Sammy Wong Kwan-wai and Jeny Yeung Mei-chun

- \* independent non-executive Director
- \*\* non-executive Director

This announcement is made in English and Chinese. In case of any inconsistency, the English version shall prevail.