South Western Railway

In March 2017, the United Kingdomˇ¦s Department for Transport (DfT) awarded the South Western franchise to First MTR South Western Trains Limited, a joint venture between MTR Corporation (30% shareholding) and UKˇ¦s FirstGroup plc. With approximately 220 million passenger journeys a year, the South Western Railway covers urban, suburban, regional, and long-distance routes between London Waterloo and south western England, including Bristol, Exeter, and Portsmouth.

The franchise will run for a seven-year period from 20 August 2017 and includes management of 203 stations on the 998.2-km rail network.

For more information about South Western Railway and First MTR South Western Trains Limited, please visit