Board and Executive Directorate

Members of the Board

Jack So Chak-kwong 56, was appointed Chairman and Chief Executive in 1995. Mr. So began his career with the Hong Kong Government. He joined the private sector in 1978, serving in various posts in securities, finance and properties. Mr. So also served as Executive Director of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council from 1985 to 1992.

Professor Cheung Yau-kai 67, was appointed to the Board on 1 March 1999. Professor Cheung is Honorary Professor of Engineering and Special Adviser to Vice-Chancellor of The University of Hong Kong.

Dr. The Honourable Raymond Ch'ien Kuo-fung 50, was appointed to the Board in July 1998. Dr. Ch'ien is Executive Chairman of chinadotcom corporation and Chairman of the Hong Kong/Japan Business Cooperation Committee. He is a member of the Executive Council of the Hong Kong SAR.

David G. Eldon 56, joined the Board on 1 May 1999. He is the Chairman of The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited and a Director of HSBC Holdings Plc.

David W. Gairns 65, joined the Board in 1991. Previously Senior Partner of KPMG, Hong Kong, Mr. Gairns is a non-executive Director of The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited.

Edward Ho Sing-tin 64, has been a Board Member since 1991. He is an architect and is Managing Director of Wong Tung & Partners Limited.

Lo Chung-hing 50, joined the Board in 1995. Mr. Lo is currently Deputy General Manager of Bank of China (Hong Kong) Ltd. He is a deputy to the 9th National People's Congress of the People's Republic of China.

Nicholas Ng Wing-fui 55, joined the Board in 1997 upon his appointment as Secretary for Transport of the Government of the Hong Kong SAR. Mr. Ng had served as Secretary for Constitutional Affairs and Director of Administration of the Hong Kong Government.

Denise Yue Chung-yee 49,

became a Board Member in April 1998 upon her appointment as Secretary for the Treasury of the Government of the Hong Kong SAR. Ms. Yue had previously served as Secretary for Trade and Industry and Director-General of Industry.

Robert Charles Law Footman 49. joined the Board in June 2000. He is the Commissioner for Transport of the Government of the Hong Kong SAR. Mr. Footman had served as Postmaster General, Head of the Efficiency Unit and Deputy Director-General of Trade of the Hong Kong Government.



Top left to right: Jack So, Cheung Yau-kai, Raymond Ch'ien, David Eldon, David Gairns Bottom left to right: Edward Ho, Lo Chung-hing, Nicholas Ng, Denise Yue, Robert Footman



From left to right: Leonard Turk, Jack So, Thomas Ho, Russell Black, Clement Kwok, William Chan, Philip Gaffney

Members of the Executive Directorate

Russell J. Black 55, is a civil engineer. He initially worked for the Company from 1976 to 1984 and, prior to rejoining the Company in 1992 as Project Director, he was Project Director on the London Underground Jubilee Line Extension.

William Chan Fu-keung 53, joined

the Company as Human Resources Manager in 1989. He joined the Executive Directorate in 1996 as Divisional Manager, Human Resources & Administration and became Human Resources Director in August 1998.

Philip Gaffney 54, was appointed Operations Director in July 1998. He joined the Company in 1977 and was previously Deputy Director, Operations Engineering. Mr. Gaffney is a railway signalling engineer.

Thomas Ho Hang-kwong 51, has served as Property Director since joining the Company in 1991. Between 1971 and 1990, he worked for the Hong Kong Government specialising in land administration. Mr. Ho is a chartered surveyor.

Clement Kwok King-man 42, is an economics graduate and a chartered accountant. He joined the Company as Finance Director in 1996 with extensive experience in accountancy and investment banking.

Leonard B. Turk 52, is a solicitor admitted to practice both in England and Wales and in Hong Kong. He joined the Company in 1981 and has been Legal Director and Secretary to the Board since 1988.