Board and Executive Directorate

Members of the Board

Jack So Chak-kwong 57, was appointed Chairman and Chief Executive in 1995. Mr. So began his career with the Hong Kong Government. He joined the private sector in 1978, serving in various posts in securities, finance and properties. Mr. So also served as Executive Director of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council from 1985 to 1992. He is also a Director of Cathay Pacific Airways Limited, CNOOC Limited and The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited.

Professor Cheung Yau-kai 68, was appointed to the Board on 1 March 1999. Professor Cheung is Honorary Professor of Engineering and Special Adviser to Vice-Chancellor of The University of Hong Kong.

Dr. Raymond Ch'ien Kuo-fung 51, was appointed to the Board in July 1998. Dr. Ch'ien is Executive Chairman of chinadotcom corporation and Chairman of the Hong Kong/Japan Business Cooperation Committee. He is also a nonexecutive Director of HSBC Holdings plc.

David Gordon Eldon 57, joined the Board on 1 May 1999. He is the Chairman of The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited and a Director of HSBC Holdings plc.

Edward Ho Sing-tin 64, has been a Board Member since 1991. He is an architect and is Deputy Chairman and Managing Director of Wong Tung & Partners Limited.

Lo Chung-hing 51, joined the Board in 1995. Mr. Lo is currently General Manager of Bank of China (Hong Kong) Ltd, after the restructuring of the Bank of China Group in October 2001.

T Brian Stevenson 58, was appointed to the Board on 1 October 2002. Previously Chairman of Ernst & Young (Hong Kong & China), he is a non-executive Director of The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited, the Securities and Futures Commission and the Ocean Park Corporation.

Commissioner for Transport (Robert Charles Law Footman 50, joined the Board in June 2000. He is the Commissioner for Transport of the Government of the Hong Kong SAR. Mr. Footman had previously served as Postmaster General, Head of the Efficiency Unit and Deputy Director-General of Trade of the Hong Kong Government.)

Secretary for the Environment, Transport and Works

(Dr. Sarah Liao Sau-tung 51, joined the Board in August 2002 after her appointment as the Secretary for the Environment, Transport and Works of the Government of the Hong Kong SAR on 1 July 2002.)

Frederick Ma Si-hang 51, became a Board Member on 1 July 2002 upon his appointment as Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury of the Government of the Hong Kong SAR.

Members of the Executive Directorate

Jack So Chak-kwong Brief biographical details are set out above.

Russell John Black 56, is a civil engineer. He initially worked for the Company from 1976 to 1984 and, prior to rejoining the Company in 1992 as Project Director, he was Project Director on the London Underground Jubilee Line Extension.

William Chan Fu-keung 54, joined the Company as Human Resources Manager in 1989. He joined the Executive Directorate in 1996 as Divisional Manager, Human Resources & Administration and became Human Resources Director in August 1998.

Philip Gaffney 55, was appointed Operations Director in July 1998. He joined the Company in 1977 and was previously Deputy Director, Operations Engineering. Mr. Gaffney is a railway signalling engineer.

Thomas Ho Hang-kwong 52, has served as Property Director since joining the Company in 1991. Between 1971 and 1990, he worked for the Hong Kong Government specialising in land administration. Mr. Ho is a chartered surveyor.

Lincoln Leong Kwok-kuen 42, is a Chartered Accountant and graduated from Cambridge University. Prior to joining the Company as Finance Director in February 2002, he worked in both the accountancy and investment banking industries.

Leonard Bryan Turk 53, is a solicitor admitted to practice both in England and Wales and in Hong Kong. He joined the Company in 1981 and has been Legal Director and Secretary to the Board since 1988.